#13 – Pastel Pretties

I went through a bit of a pastel phase recently, usually in a reaction to wearing dark polishes for a while. But it’s really actually hard finding a nice pastel PINK polish. I bought one of those, and a couple of others last week, so despite going pastel only recently, here we are again. For testing purposes of course.

So I thought I’d actually show the polishes I use for each design, mainly because polish bottles can be so pretty!

20150126_232024

From L – R: Essie Fashion Playground, OPI I Love Applause, L’Oreal Ocean Porcelaine, L’Oreal Lemon Meringue, OPI Rumples Wiggin’.

The design this time was very simple, and really was just an excuse to test these polishes.

Base coat: OPI Natural Nail Base Coat

Thumb base: Essie Fashion Playground. This is my very first Essie. I’ve heard so much about this brand – and also its reputation for a difficult application. I actually wanted Mint Candy Apple, but the store had this one on special for $5 (vs. $13) and it looked pretty darn close so I took it instead. It applied kinda sheer and streaky, but after 3 coats it evened out pretty well. It has a faint shimmer in the bottle but I really can’t see it on the nail. It’s pretty, but doesn’t blow me away.

Index base: L’Oreal Color Riche Lemon Meringue – I’ve used this before, so ’nuff said.

Middle base: OPI Rumples Wiggin’ – such a cute name, and it applies beautifully to boot. The colour is a soft lilac purple, so pretty. It was opaque in 2 coats and wasn’t streaky at all. I’m surprised it isn’t more popular!

Ring base: OPI I Love Applause. I wanted to love this one so bad, but it was the worst polish I’ve had to apply so far, which I’m so sad about!! What you see here took FIVE coats and I still managed to bang them both into something while drying so there are two dents. The colour payoff in the end was a very pretty pink, but it took a lot of effort to get there, it felt like every coat was going on streakier then the last. I’m sure there are easier pinks to apply out there.

Pinkie base: L’Oreal Color Riche Ocean Porcelaine – I was quite up in the air about this one – depending on the colours its sitting next to, it can look like liquid paper white, which is not a good look. But in the bottle there is a distinct blue tinge to it. Bit of an odd colour, but it looks kinda blue here. The application, like the other L’Oreals, is very good and I think it was opaque in two coats.

Thumb stamping polish: American Apparel Hassid. Yes, I went all the way to Sydney’s only American Apparel store to find this (OK, I live only a 20 minute bus ride away, but still). I wanted to do some stamping in black polish, but the Sally Hansen Black Out was too sheer. Someone online recommended this, and it was a great recommendation. It’s much thicker and stamps very well. It certainly looks like a one coater as a base polish, the bottle is black as night!

Striping: Orly Instant Artist Platinum. I’ve had this – and a gold – for a while but haven’t tested it yet. I obviously need more practice (you should see the right hand where the left hand drew), but I do like the long thin brush. Could be difficult to do something intricate though. Very pigmented, every stroke had absolutely no gaps or anything.

Top coat: OPI Top Coat

Leave a Reply

